Facebook x100  LinkedIn x100 Twitter x100  YouTube x100  Join Mailing List Button_copy2

Governmental Affairs Logo-01
021317 Newcomb
Left to Right: Don Barbour, AT&T; Cindy Williams, CEO of the Cartersville-Bartow Chamber; Janet Queen, Governmental Affairs Committee Chair; and Dr. Ron Newcomb, President of Chattahoochee Technical College and the guest speaker for the Governmental Affairs meeting on February 13, 2017.

GA Chamber E&I 011017 crop
Left to Right: Mayor Kenneth Carson, City of Adairsville; Saunders Jones III, 2017 Board Chair, Cartersville-Bartow Chamber; Mayor Al Pallone, City of Emerson; John Cornelius, Georgia Power Company; Mayor Matt Santini, City of Cartersville; Janet Queen, Chair, Governmental Affairs Committee; Commissioner Steve Taylor, Bartow County; Cindy Williams, CEO, Cartersville-Bartow Chamber; and Peter Olson, County Administrator, Bartow County.

Governmental Affairs

The Chamber often serves as a collective voice for the betterment of the business community. The Governmental Affairs committee is at the forefront of current issues and topics ensuring a positive business climate so the community as a whole can thrive. Governmental Affairs not only brings together community leaders from all levels of government but also the Joint Development Authority, Downtown Development Authority, school systems, colleges and universities, non-profit community, Airport Authority, Convention and Visitors Bureau and many other groups and individuals working either in Bartow County or on issues that directly affect Bartow County and our businesses and community.

Meetings are open to anyone in the community. The meetings are generally held the second Monday of each month at 8:00 AM at the Chamber.

2017 Meeting Schedule:
(Speakers and topics will be listed as they are confirmed.)
February 13 - Workforce Development - Dr. Ron Newcomb, President, Chattahoochee Technical College
March 13 - Bartow County Comprehensive Plan - Member of the Bartow County Planning Team
April 10 - Bartow County By The Numbers - Commissioner Steve Taylor, Bartow County Government
May 8 - Georgia's Film Industry - Craig Dominey, Senior Film Location Specialist, Georgia Film, Music and Digital Entertainment Office
June 12 - Rosemary Green, District Attorney, Cherokee Judicial Circuit
July 10 - Bartow County Municipalities - Matt Santini, Mayor of Cartersville; Al Pallone, Mayor of Emerson; and Dennis Thayer, Mayor of Euharlee
August 14 - Richard Woods, State School Superintendent, Georgia Department of Education
September 11 - Paul Pugliese, Bartow County Extension Coordinator, University of Georgia Bartow County Extension Office
October 16 - Ross King, Executive Director, Association County Commissioners of Georgia; Tom Gehl, Director, Governmental Relations, Georgia Municipal Association
November 13 - Kathy Nguyen, Senior Project Manager, Cobb County Water System
December 11
Janet Queen 200x275

Janet Queen, Committee Chair
Phone: (770) 842-8153
Email Janet

Shane Evans 200x275

Shane Evans, Committee Co-Chair
Phone: (770) 975-4106
Email Shane

IMG_1326 S

Japanese Embassy - edit S

IMG_2719 edit S